Personal Injury Attorneys

Serving all of Kansas

1.866.881.0103

Excellent Lawyers Extraordinary Results
Translate Page to Spanish

New Kansas Bill Seeks to Improve Car Accident Insurance Benefits

The Kansas House has an important bill dealing with car insurance that the insurance industry wants to bury.  The bill raises the minimum insurance limits for the first time since 1981, and gets rid of a credit which often makes underinsured motorist insurance unavailable even though the customer has paid for the coverage.

I know that there are other things to do today, but please make this a top priority and call and e-mail each and every one of these people.  Ask them to allow a vote on HB 2104, and to NOT send it to interim.

Your e-mail can be as short as:  "I understand that you are on the House Insurance Committee.  I am a concerned citizen here in Kansas and ask that you vote in favor of HB 2104 so that minimum insurance limits are raised and so that underinsured motorist insurance is always available for customers who pay for that coverage."

Kansas Legislative Hotline: 1-800-432-3924: Allows you to leave brief messages for legislators and request copies of bills and other legislative documents

Office Name Email Phone
Representative Tom Cox Tom.Cox@house.ks.gov 785 296-7331
Representative Willie Dove willie.dove@house.ks.gov 785 296-7677
Representative Roger Elliott Roger.Elliott@house.ks.gov 785 296-7476
Representative John Eplee John.Eplee@house.ks.gov 785 296-8621
Representative Daniel Hawkins dan.hawkins@house.ks.gov 785 296-7631
Representative Fred Patton fred.patton@house.ks.gov 785-296-7460
Representative Adam Smith Adam.Smith@house.ks.gov 785 296-0715
Speaker of the House Ron Ryckman Ron.ryckman@house.ks.gov 785 296-2302
Representative Elizabeth Bishop Elizabeth.Bishop@house.ks.gov 785 296-5016
Representative Ken Corbet ken.corbet@house.ks.gov 785 296-7679
Representative Gail Finney gail.finney@house.ks.gov 785 296-7649
Representative Tim Hodge Tim.Hodge@house.ks.gov 785 296-2361
Representative Jim Kelly jim.kelly@house.ks.gov 785 296-6014
Representative Cindy Neighbor Cindy.Neighbor@house.ks.gov 785 296-7690
Representative Boyd Orr Boyd.Orr@house.ks.gov 785 296-7392
Representative Brett Parker Brett.Parker@house.ks.gov 785 296-5413
Representative Randy Powell randy.powell@house.ks.gov 785-296-5593
Representative Jene Vickrey jene.vickrey@house.ks.gov 785-296-7748

 

Key points:

  • Work HB 2104 and allow an up or down vote in the House
    • Increases bodily injury minimum limits, unchanged since 1981, from 25/50 to 50/100
    • Ends an insurer credit that limits Kansans' UIM (underinsured motorist) coverage, which they are required to purchase but cannot often access
    • Issue was already studied in interim committee, and this is the third consecutive session with hearings on the issue (2015, 2016, 2017); action needed now
  • There's no "driver tax" in Kansas
  • Auto insurance should cover the costs of auto accidents
    • Mandatory minimums should be reasonable so that injured people don't have to pay the bills of wrongdoers and costs aren't passed onto health care providers.
    • Mandatory minimums were set in 1981 and are no longer reasonable.
  • Insurance "stacking" is not permitted in Kansas
    • Kansans are worse off than other states with 25/50 limits.
    • Eliminating the UIM offset and increasing limits are modest ways to assure Kansans have reasonable coverage for medical bills.
Categories: Posts

3 Compound Dr, Hutchinson, Kansas 67502

  • Toll Free (866) 881-0103
  • Local (620) 662-3435
  • Wichita (316) 266-4111