Who Pays For Auto Accidents in Kansas?
Kansas car accident lawyers explain state's unique legal system
Auto accidents in Kansas can be expensive. Medical bills can add up fast. Bills can quickly pile up, especially if you cannot work. That's why it's important to make sure you get the money you deserve after your motor vehicle accident.
We understand what you're going through. That's because our Kansas car accident lawyers have worked with countless car accident victims. At Bretz & Young, we know how the legal system works and what it takes to get injury victims the money they deserve.
You can learn more below about the different types of compensation available to you and your family after your accident. You can also ask us any questions you might have about your accident. Simply contact our law firm and schedule your free case evaluation.
What is 'No Fault' Car Insurance in Kansas?
Kansas has a unique car accident insurance system. Unlike many other states, Kansas has a "no-fault" car insurance system. This means that all car and truck insurance policies are required to have "personal injury protection," or "PIP," coverage. PIP pays a portion of the initial medical bills and lost wages for people who have been injured in a motor vehicle accident without having to prove who was at fault.
So, for example, if you own a car or truck and are involved in an accident, then your own insurance pays initial medical bills and lost wages regardless of who caused the accident. Or, for example, if you don't own a vehicle but you are involved in a motor vehicle accident, the insurance for the vehicle involved in the accident pays the initial bills regardless of who was at fault.
Kansas has minimum required limits for all no-fault, or PIP, coverages. These include:
- $4,500 for medical expenses
- $4,500 for rehabilitation expenses
- $900 per month for lost income for 12 months
- $25 per day for essential services
- $2,000 for funeral expenses
If someone else caused your crash and injuries, the at-fault driver's insurance company can be pursued for the injuries and damages which you have suffered. The at-fault driver's insurance company, known as the "liability insurer" can be made to pay for past and future medical expenses, past and future lost income, past and future non-economic damages for things like pain and suffering, and other damages. Claims for non-economic damages can only be pursued if one of five "threshold" requirements is met:
- Your medical bills exceed $2,000
- You have suffered a compound, comminuted or displaced fracture
- You have suffered a fracture of a weight-bearing bone
- You have a permanent disability
- You have permanent scarring
There is often a great deal of debate over the severity of injuries which have been suffered in a wreck. Insurance companies deliberately downplay the severity of your injury. That way, they don't have to compensate you for your crash. Such scare tactics don't work with us. We know how to take on insurance companies and win.
We can help you fight for the money you rightfully deserve after your accident.
What are Kansas' minimum car insurance requirements?
Under Kansas' insurance system, all drivers must have the following minimum amount of liability insurance coverage:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injuries
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injuries
This liability insurance coverage pays other people if you accidentally do something to cause injuries to one of your passengers or someone else.
Kansas also requires drivers to have uninsured and underinsured driver insurance coverage with limits equal to the liability insurance limits in the policy. This pays you, your passengers, or your family members if someone else does something to cause injuries to them.
Such figures might seem like a lot of money. But the financial toll of an accident can often be significantly higher. Many car accidents end up costing hundreds of thousands or millions of dollars. That's why it's important to talk to an attorney at our law firm right away. Otherwise, you might not get the money you deserve for your crash.
What are common car accident-related expenses?
Most people don't take into account every accident-related expense. Often, they only count expenses immediately after an accident. Such short-term expenses often include:
- Emergency medical bills
- Repairing or replacing their vehicle
- Lost income during recovery
Serious car accidents often include many more expenses, especially once you realize that aftermath of an accident can often last years or the rest of your life. If you sustain a permanent injury and cannot work for months or years or perhaps ever again, your accident-related expenses can include:
- Loss of future earnings
- Physical therapy
- In-home nursing care
- Modifications to your home (wheelchair ramp, handicapped-accessible bathroom, kitchen, etc.)
In addition, you and your family might be eligible for other types of compensation depending on the circumstances of your accident. Such compensation can include money for:
- Pain and suffering
- Mental anguish
- Loss of companionship
We can help you accurately assess the true cost of your car accident. That's why it's important to contact our law firm as soon as possible.
How Bretz & Young can help you
Never underestimate the complexity of your car accident. Even if another driver clearly caused your crash, don't simply assume you will receive the money you rightfully deserve. The same is true when it comes to insurance companies. They want you to think they have your best interests at heart. But the truth is that they only care about making money. That's why insurance companies - even your own - often do everything they can to deny or reduce your claim.
We know how to take on insurance companies and win. That's why have such a strong track record of success. In case after case, we consistently help accident victims get the money they deserve so they can move forward with their lives and live with dignity. Find out how we can help you. Schedule an appointment today with us. We're here for you when you need us most.